A prayer locked in a letter

Sometimes I think I’m in love with a ghost,

A feeling so surreal, it makes your fingers tingle, your stomach turn, and the lines of your face crease into a smile,

An unexplainable feeling from your heart to your mind that whispers, “He’s out there…somewhere,”

A silky dream among the stars, of lovers lost, and lovers found,

The kind that makes you feel alive as you yell at the top of your lungs those three words,

But to who, I’m not sure.

 

Perhaps a ghost in the midnight sky,

His embrace is gentle, his hand is warm,

And for the first time in your life you feel safe, it just feels right you tell yourself,

He leads you to the clouds above, as he whispers softly to your ear

Kind words that echo, “Come away with me,”

Suddenly, you are reminded of a letter you once wrote to God,

Young and foolish, you snuck it under your pillow.

 

Morning rays, dew drops and the scent of sandalwood surrounds you,

With one eye open and the warmth of the sun on your skin, you realise that,

Every thing has its place in time, even the sun must give way to the moon,

A prayer locked in a letter, but not forgotten,

Will one day be answered, in just a matter of time.

 

forest

This entry was posted in Writing with soul and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on by .

About Donna

If I was to describe myself in a nutshell, I am a 23-year-old, who just graduated! I am someone who is full of spirit, likes to dress cute, has big dreams, and is somewhat adventurous, with quirks that make people smile. Some people have a clear direction of what path they want to follow in life. I on the other hand, have decided to simply follow what make me happy. If you've been doing a little soul searching lately or you're still trying to define the meaning of life, well I can tell you this, if you can't figure out your purpose on this planet, find what it is that you're passionate about. For your passion will lead you right into your purpose. Open your heart. Listen with an open mind. And for God's sake, live a little! I hope you stay a while and read about my 20-something rants, antics and adventures in Sydney, and perhaps pick up a thing or two.

3 thoughts on “A prayer locked in a letter

  1. davidconfidential

    I love your work. You are so talented as well as pretty. Thank you for writing for us X

    Reply
      1. davidconfidential

        Lol this is going to sound cheesy but I was really excited when you followed me.

        Partly again because you are wonderful to look at but also because it is always brilliant to be viewed and followed by someone as talented as you.

        Thank you again

Leave a Reply

