Once in a while, stop and admire the beauty in the simplest of things

In every one of us, there’s a story to be told. One that bears tears – tears of sadness and tears of joy. There’s a hopeless romantic in each of us, for love is a universal need. I’m like an onion. I have many layers.

Yesterday, I walked past the park in the photograph. I have walked past it for years, but never did I stop and admire it’s beauty, until now. Here’s a little something I wrote:

A Gentle Breeze and Autumn Leaves

I’m drawn to this place
Of hidden beauty and grace,
My eyes brighten and my lips part,
I close my eyes and wish.

In a sudden haze,
Your presence overwhelms me,
Your cologne fills me,
It’s rugged and soft
With traces of sandalwood,
It’s light and fresh
Just like a crisp white cotton shirt.

Perhaps we have never met.
But for now just let me be,
For patience is a virtue,
A hidden melody in the whispers of the wind,
A hidden comfort found in the gentle breeze,
A hidden note scribbled on an autumn leaf.

Rainbow

Yours truly, from a 21-year-old girl who believes, “the best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched – they must be felt with the heart” (Helen Keller).

This entry was posted in Life + lessons and tagged , , , , , , , on by .

About Donna

If I was to describe myself in a nutshell, I am a 23-year-old, who just graduated! I am someone who is full of spirit, likes to dress cute, has big dreams, and is somewhat adventurous, with quirks that make people smile. Some people have a clear direction of what path they want to follow in life. I on the other hand, have decided to simply follow what make me happy. If you've been doing a little soul searching lately or you're still trying to define the meaning of life, well I can tell you this, if you can't figure out your purpose on this planet, find what it is that you're passionate about. For your passion will lead you right into your purpose. Open your heart. Listen with an open mind. And for God's sake, live a little! I hope you stay a while and read about my 20-something rants, antics and adventures in Sydney, and perhaps pick up a thing or two.

One thought on “Once in a while, stop and admire the beauty in the simplest of things

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 05/30/13 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

